Explore Wellington North Neighbourhoods
From $
To $

3 results found

Arthur is a community located just north of Highway 6 and Wellington Road 109 in the township of Wellington North. Formerly an independent village, Arthur was amalgamated into Wellington North on January 1, 1999. The village was named after Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington. Settlers began arriving in 1840. The saw and grist mills on the Conestogo River encouraged people to settle here. In 1851, a post office, church and school were organized. Development increased in 1872 when the train line of the Toronto, Grey and Bruce Railway reached the village which was incorporated in that year.


Mount Forest is an unincorporated community located at the junction of Highway 6 and Highway 89 in the township of Wellington North. Prior to European settlement, present day Mount Forest was prime hunting ground for the Saugeen Ojibway peoples due to its location on the Saugeen River. During the survey of the Galafraxa Colonization Road, constructed from Arthur to Georgian Bay in 1840-48, land was reserved for a settlement. By 1851 a post office was established. Mount Forest was amalgamated into the new township of Wellington North on 1 January 1999.

Mount Forest

Rural Wellington North contains the smaller communities of Damascus, Derrynane, Farewell, Gordonville, Green Park, Kenilworth, Metz, Monck, Mount View, Olivet, Petherton, Riverstown and Wagram. On January 1, 1999, the Wellington North township was formed through the amalgamation of the townships of Arthur and West Luther, the village of Arthur and the town of Mount Forest, and a small portion of the West Garafraxa Township.

Rural Wellington North