Greater Toronto Area

The Greater Toronto Area, commonly referred to as the GTA, includes the City of Toronto and the regional municipalities of Durham, Halton, Peel, and York. The Greater Toronto Area is a commercial, distribution, financial and economic centre, being the second largest financial centre in North America.

Go back to regions

Toronto is the most populous city in Canada and the fourth most populous city in North America. Toronto is an international centre of business, finance, arts, and culture, and is recognized as one of the most multicultural and cosmopolitan cities in the world. The diverse population of Toronto reflects its current and historical role as an important destination for immigrants to Canada. Its economy is highly diversified with strengths in technology, design, financial services, life sciences, education, arts, fashion, aerospace, environmental innovation, food services, and tourism.

Learn more

Mississauga is situated on the shores of Lake Ontario in the Regional Municipality of Peel, bordering Toronto to the east. Mississauga is the seventh-most populous municipality in Canada, third-most in Ontario, and second-most in the Greater Toronto Area after Toronto itself. During the latter half of the 20th century, the city attracted a multicultural population and built up a thriving central business district. It is home to Toronto Pearson International Airport, Canada's busiest airport, as well as the headquarters of many Canadian and multinational corporations.

Learn more

Brampton is the ninth most populous municipality in Canada and the third most populous city in the Greater Golden Horseshoe urban area, behind Toronto and Mississauga. Immigration has greatly increased Brampton's population. The city was once known as "The Flower Town of Canada", a title referring to its large greenhouse industry. Nowadays, Brampton's major economic sectors include advanced manufacturing, retail administration, logistics, information and communication technologies, food and beverage, life sciences, and business services.

Learn more

Markham is a city in the Regional Municipality of York, approximately 30 km northeast of Downtown Toronto. Markham is the largest city in York Region, fourth largest in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), and 16th largest in Canada. Since the 1970s, Markham rapidly shifted from being an agricultural community to an industrialized municipality due to urban sprawl from neighbouring Toronto. Several multinational companies have their Canadian headquarters in Markham.

Learn more

Vaughan is located in the Regional Municipality of York, just north of Toronto. The township was named after Benjamin Vaughan, a British commissioner who signed a peace treaty with the United States in 1783. It is the fifth-largest city in the Greater Toronto Area, and the 17th-largest city in Canada. Within the Greater Toronto Area, Vaughan is the third-largest employment center, after Toronto and Mississauga.

Learn more